--- --- 非见问题-孙安及咨询
--- ---

非见问题

任何的咨询或者辅导都是孙安及老师教吗?

所有的学生都是一对一直接和孙安及交流。

我应该什么时候开始准备申请大学?

大学准备: 我建议在9年级暑假前与我们预约大学申请咨询服务,以帮助学生在高中的学习成绩基础上获得最好的成果。

考前准备: 我本人是在7年级开始准备ACT/SAT考试的。因此,我建议至少从9年级暑假开始准备。对于准备较晚的学生,我的一对一辅导课程可以更有针对性地帮助学生补齐短板、提升学习效率。

我不住在湾区怎么办?

我的学生们来自天南海北,有来自美国东、西海岸地区的,也有来自中国上海和香港的。我们之间通过视频通话保持着频繁的联络。来湾区参观斯坦福大学或者加州大学各分校的学生,可以选择与我本人会面。

父母在此过程中的角色?

可以根据父母的意愿,全程参与或给与学生充分自由。在了解学生的目标和动力的过程中,了解他/她的父母是非常重要的部分。有的家长全程参与,有的家长选择每周或每学期收到一份总结报告。我们会充分尊重和满足家长和学生的意愿。

辅导课程更像讲座类型还是更像答疑类型?

我们采用问题导向的方法进行辅导。我更希望学生们带着疑问或者出错的地方来咨询,然后我再进行讲解和更正,因为这样他们的注意力会更集中。在较长时间的讲座中,学生很容易疲倦、注意力分散,因为讲座内容可能与他们实际碰到的问题相关度不高。我倾向于缩短讲座时间,即时提问学生以测试他们对知识的理解程度。当然,每个学生的需求都是不同的,我会根据他们的需求量身定制课程内容.

学费的付款方式?

我们接受个人支票、信用卡(通过Paypal)、现金或Venmo进行付款。

跟你改昨文是什么方式的?

我们会给你详细和清楚的反馈还有带领你从开始写第一稿到结果. 然而, 我们不会直接写你的昨文。 我们的特点是让你的 bringing out YOUR voice and telling YOUR unique story. 我的平均的学生和我只少会反复该作文5次才能看到满意的结果。

如何预约时间?临时取消或加入可以吗?

欢迎发邮件至[email protected]进行预约。临时加入的申请我会根据实际情况尽力满足。我曾经帮助高年级的学生们在申请截止日期前4天开始修改他们的申请材料,仍然取得了显著的质量提升。预约时间前不足24小时取消的,将会收取50美元的取消费用。预约时间前24小时取消的,不收取费用。

我的孩子并不准备申请常春藤学校。你们仍然会帮助他/她吗?

当然!每个学生的择校决定背后有很多不同的因素。我们致力于帮助你了解更多信息,做出最慎重的决定。我们已经帮助学生们申请到如密歇根大学、加州大学伯克利/欧文分校、伦斯勒理工学院以及其他常春藤大学。

我很想参加你们的辅导,但是觉得价格太高。还有其他的选择吗?

我们欢迎您为我们推荐学生,在此基础上,您可以获得推荐优惠。

  • 推荐1名学生,并且他/她完成了至少一小时的课程/咨询,您将获得所有服务10%的折扣。
  • 推荐2名学生,并且他/她完成了至少一小时的课程/咨询,您将获得所有服务20%的折扣。
推荐优惠名额有限,具体使用条件以实际情况为准。

为什么选择Angela Sun Consulting?

授人以鱼,不如授人以渔。
我们的目标不仅仅是帮助学生为某门课程或者为入学考试做好准备,更希望能够帮助他们掌握学习的技能和技巧,如统筹计划、时间管理、挫折应对等。我的学生们在辅导结束后,在分数和其他各个方面都能感受到明显的进步。经过与我们的辅导课程,学生们能够更有信心地参加考试,同时也能学到很多受用终生的学习技巧。

如何联系你们?

欢迎发邮件至[email protected]

--- ---
Free Consultation

FAQ

Will I work with you or someone else?

You will work directly with me, 100% of the time, in a 1:1 setting.

When should I start?

College planning: I recommend booking an initial consult in the summer before 9th grade, so that students can make the most out of their 4 years of high school.

Test prep: I personally started ACT/SAT prep in 7th grade. At latest, I recommend starting test prep in the summer of 9th grade. For students starting later, my 1:1 tutoring course is a great way to pinpoint weaknesses and fast-track your learning.

What if I don't live in the Bay Area?

I have successfully worked with students both across America, in New York, Boston, and the East Coast, and across the world, in Shanghai and Hong Kong. After our initial consultation, we will continue to video call on a regular basis. Students who tour in the Bay Area to visit Stanford or the University of California schools can also meet with me in person.

How are parents involved?

Parents can be as involved or uninvolved as they want. An important part of understanding a student's motivations and goals is getting to know their family and understanding the two people who have influenced them the most! Some parents choose to be present at all meetings with the student. Others prefer a weekly or semester report. We are here to support you in whatever way you think is best.

Are your tutoring sessions more lecture-based or formatted to answer the student's questions?

We take the problem-based approach to learning. I prefer for my students to do a problem wrong before lecturing or correcting them, because they are much more likely to pay attention after they've made a mistake. Sometimes, students can be easily bored by long lectures without seeing how it is applicable to their studies. I tend to give short lectures, and immediately follow-up with problems to test the student's understanding. However, each student's needs are unique and I tailer my lessons to maximize my student's learning.

What forms of payment do you accept?

Payment is accepted by personal check, credit card (via Paypal), cash, or Venmo.

How hands on are your essay revisions?

We provide concrete, actionable feedback and guide you through the process of editing. However, we never directly edit or write your essay. Our specialty is bringing out YOUR voice and telling YOUR unique story. On average, I go through at least 5 drafts with each of my students on their personal statement.

How do we schedule time with you? What about last minute additions or cancellations?

Contact me at [email protected] to schedule sessions. I will try to acommodate last minute additions as much as possible. In the past, I have worked with seniors on their essays in the last four days before the early admission or regular decision deadline and still made a significant difference. Cancellations of appointments made less than 24 hours from the appointment will be billed for a $50 cancellation fee. Cancellations 24 hours or before our appointments will not be charged.

My child is not aiming for an Ivy League school. Will you still work with them?

Yes! Each child's school of choice depends heavily on their career choice and other existing family conditions. We work with you to help you get into your school of choice, whatever that may be. Angela has helped students achieve admissions to schools such as University of Michigan, University of California Berkeley/Irvine, and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, in addition to the Ivy League universities.

I'd love to work with you but your prices are a bit steep. What options do we have?

For families looking for a more economic option, we have a referral program to lower the costs.

  • Refer 1 student who completes at least one hour of any of our services, receive 10% off all services
  • Refer 2 students who complete at least one hour of any of our services, receive 20% off all services
This promotion is for a limited time only and is subject to change.

Why Angela Sun Consulting?

Give a Man a Fish, and You Feed Him for a Day. Teach a Man To Fish, and You Feed Him for a Lifetime
My goal is to prepare students not just for the specific course or college entrance exam that they booked me for, but to teach them how to learn. This includes skills such as prioritization, time management, and what to do when you're stuck. My students usually see improvements in their grades and performance across the board, not just in the specific topic of lecture. Through my tutoring, you will quickly and efficiently prepare for your exam, but you will also learn skills applicable to the rest of your life.

What if I have more questions?

Email us at [email protected]